top of page

Family at Case High School: Jimmy & Mrs. Gibson

High school can be a difficult time for students. It’s when many of us are trying to find ourselves, and develop who we are as a person. But what if your mom was surrounded by you 24/7 each school day? Would that be good or bad? For the Gibson’s, it's a good thing.

Nancy Gibson is a Case High school’s theater teacher who also has a son,Jimmy, who attends Case.

  1. Is it difficult to work at the same school as your son?

“No, not at all. Case High school has always been a part of our lives. Especially my son’s, he practically grew up on this stage.”

2) What's the most difficult thing about having your son as a student?

“There really isn’t that many difficulties. But if I was to say, it would probably be keeping “boundaries”. I wouldn’t want my son to receive unfair advantages in comparison to other theater students.”

3) What’s your favorite thing about your son working around you?

“Probably my opportunity to see how he acts outside of the house, as well as how he interacts with other students. I get the opportunity to see him at high points and low points when it comes to his success. This chance has truly brought our mother and son relationship to a closer level.

4) What's your son like outside of the classroom? Is he different?

“I wouldn’t say he’s necessarily different, but he is definitely more outgoing and kind in both of his surroundings. I love the fact that I get to see as many aspects of his life.”

  1. Is it difficult to attend the same school your mom works at?

“I wouldn’t say its difficult. I enjoy being able to learn about theater from her, and be able to have her as a role model.”

2) What's the most difficult thing about having your mom as a teacher?

“As I said earlier, there really isn’t many. But if I did had to choose, it would be living up to her standards, as well as fulfilling my own goals.

3) What's your favorite thing about your mom working at Case?

“My favorite thing is being able to see her a lot and spend time with her. As well as expanding my skills in theater.”

4) What's your mom like outside of the classroom? Is she different?

“She’s exactly the same. She has a huge heart and constantly wants to help others. So there really is no difference between the tw


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page